Harrisonburg Action 2020 (Biking & Walking) Workshop

  • Increase
  • Normal
  • Decrease

Current Size: 80%

The Shenandoah Valley Bicycle Coalition, in partnership with the Harrisonburg-Rockingham Metropolitan Planning Organization, invites you to attend Harrisonburg Action 2020, a one-day workshop focused on funding possibilities for the development of bicycle and pedestrian infrastructure in the Harrisonburg-Rockingham region. The workshop will be held on Friday, September 21 from 9:00am to 4:00pm at the Lucy Simms Center, 620 Simms Avenue, Harrisonburg, VA 22802. 

Lunch will be provided and there is no cost to attend. 


While the workshop is free, please register in advance by visiting the Advocacy Advance website. Registration for the workshop ends September 14. 


The goal of the Harrisonburg Action 2020 workshop is to equip participants with the knowledge, skills and resources to access often underutilized funding for bicycle and pedestrian facilities. The area's national recognition as a bike destination and the huge amount of local enthusiasm and momentum behind cycling uniquely positions the Harrisonburg-Rockingham region to benefit in many ways. The Harrisonburg Action 2020 workshop aims to bring together the key individuals necessary to build on these assets to improve economic opportunities, mobility, health and safety through greater availability of bicycle and pedestrian infrastructure. Rockingham County and City of Harrisonburg officials, staff, bike advocates and community members will have the opportunity to exchange ideas, learn from past successes, future plans, and coordinate future priorities. 

The workshop will be facilitated by a team of subject matter experts from Advocacy Advance, a partnership of the Alliance for Biking and Walking and the League of American Bicyclists. 

Please send any questions to Erin Yancey at erin@cspdc.org or call at 540-885-5174.

The City of Harrisonburg is a member of the Harrisonburg-Rockingham Metropolitan Planning Organization (HRMPO). Other members include Rockingham County and the Towns of Bridgewater, Dayton, and Mt. Crawford, with representation also from the Virginia Department of Transportation and the Virginia Department of Rail and Public Transportation. The HRMPO wa established in May 2003 to implement continuing, cooperative, and comprehensive transportation planning and programming.