Planning Commission

  • Increase
  • Normal
  • Decrease

Current Size: 80%

Board Description

The Planning Commission is comprised of seven city residents, of which one is a City Council member, serving four-year terms (two term maximum). They typically meet once a month to consider requests from citizens and developers on issues such as rezonings, special use permits, major subdivisions, and street and alley closings. The Commission's recommendations are forwarded to City Council to help their decision-making. The Commission also assists the City with special projects such as ordinance revisions and special sub-committees. The duties and responsibilities of the Planning Commission are in City Code Section 10-1-1.

PDF[129KB] Bylaws

PDF[104KB] Ethical Principles in Planning

PDF[64KB] Rules of Procedure 



Four years; two successive.


Meeting Date/Time/Location & Application Deadlines

Planning Commission meeting dates and application deadlines:

PDF All files in PDF format

2022 Planning Commission Meeting Dates and Application Deadlines [123KB]


Public Hearing and Agenda Packet Notices

Upcoming public hearing notices are available on the City's Public Hearing webpage.

Prior to the meeting, questions may be directed to Planning staff at 540-432-7700.

Contact to receive monthly notices when Agenda Packets (includes staff reports) are posted online; usually the Friday before the Planning Commission meeting. 


Agendas, Videos, and Minutes

COVID-19 Update:

In accordance with the Emergency Resolution to effectuate temporary changes in certain deadlines and to modify public meeting and public hearing practices and procedures to address continuity of operations associated with pandemic disaster, adopted on January 11, 2022, the public will not be able to physically attend the Planning Commission meeting. Community members will be able to watch the meeting live on the City’s website and Public Education Government Channel 3. 

A phone line will be live where community members can call in and speak with Planning Commission during the public hearings and public comment period. We ask those that wish to speak during the public comment period to not call in until after all the public hearings and public comment on those items have been heard. This will avoid anyone calling on any other item from holding up the queue and then being asked to call back at a later time. The telephone number to call in is: 540-437-2687.

Community members also may provide comment prior to the meeting by emailing:

Planning Commission Meeting Videos

Planning Commission Meeting Agendas, Videos, and Minutes 


Commission Member, Position Term Expiration
Brent Finnegan, Chair 1st 12-31-23
Adriel Byrd, Vice-Chair Unexpired Term 12-31-23
Richard Baugh 1st 12-31-24
Donna Armstrong unexpired 01-04-25
James Orndoff 1st 12-31-23
Kathy Whitten 2nd 12-31-24
Laura Dent, Council Representative  Tenure of Office Appointed

Questions or Comments?  Mail to City of Harrisonburg, Department of Community Development, Attn: (Board Member), 409 South Main Street, Harrisonburg, VA 22801 or email

Back to City Boards and Commissions.


Having trouble opening a file link to an attached document on this page?

Free viewers can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below. More information about the viewers and file links can be found in our Site Guide.

PDF | Word Document | Excel file | Power Point