Zoning and Subdivision Ordinance Update - Ordinance Advisory Committee (OAC)

  • Increase
  • Normal
  • Decrease

Current Size: 80%

Information about the Zoning and Subdivision Ordinance Update Project.


City Council has appointed 14 community members to the Ordinance Advisory Committee (OAC). The OAC will meet with city staff and the consultant team six times during the project to represent the broader community, review draft ordinances, serve as a sounding board for new ideas and solutions, and to provide constructive input. 

Current OAC members:

  • Richard Baugh
  • Nathan Blackwell
  • Gil Colman
  • Nadia Dames 
  • Laura Dent
  • Brent Finnegan
  • Deb Fitzgerald
  • Charles Hendricks
  • Barry Kelley
  • Matthew Phillippi 
  • Monica Robinson
  • Henry Way
  • Kathy Whitten
  • Dave Wiens


Note: OAC meetings are open to the public; however, there will not be time for public comment during the meeting. Interested parties may watch the OAC meeting live on Public Education Government Channel 3 or on the City’s website at https://harrisonburg-va.legistar.com/Calendar.aspx. Meetings are recorded and are available on the same city webpage. 

 PDF All files in PDF format, unless otherwise noted. 

Meeting 1 - October 12, 2020 at 1pm

Meeting 2 - November 18, 2020 at 1pm

Meeting 3 - July 2, 2021 at 1pm

Meeting 4 - April 17, 2024 at 5pm


Questions for city staff or members of the OAC can be directed to Thanh Dang, Deputy Director of Community Development at Thanh.Dang@harrisonburgva.gov or 540-432-7700. 

To report any problems with the links or other content on this page, please email Nyrma.Soffel@harrisonburgva.gov.