

Harrisonburg Police Foundation

A PUBLIC-PRIVATE PARTNERSHIP FOR PUBLIC SAFETY

P.O. Box 992 Harrisonburg, Virginia 22803

Hold for Release: May 16, 2019

19 Members of Harrisonburg Police Department Will Be Recognized at Valor and Merit Ceremony

Harrisonburg, Va. - On Saturday, May 18, the Harrisonburg Police Foundation will sponsor the 6th Annual Valor and Merit Awards program to honor members of the Harrisonburg Police Department who have performed with distinction during the past year. 19 members of the Department will be honored for valorous, meritorious action, life-saving, distinguished service and excellence in contributing to public safety.

At the ceremony, held at the Hotel Madison, the Harrisonburg Police Foundation will honor six members of the Department who were selected from among nominations made by their peers. The presentations will include:

- Police Officer of the Year Detective Randall Life
- Auxiliary Officer of the Year Tammy Johnson
- Donald Harper Award Corporal Megan Slater
- Leadership Award Detective Sergeant Phillip Read
- Community Service Award Officer Donald Klotz
- Customer Service Award Mackenzie Grimes

As part of the program, the Harrisonburg Police Department will confer honors on these officers and employees:

- Medal of Valor Officer Kyle Ritchie
- Meritorious Action Award Officers Jacob Castellano, Kyle Dolph and Rachel Jackman
- Life Saving Medal Officers Bradley Mathias, Hunter Mckenzie, and Tyler Seiver
- Police Chief's Commendation Award Lt. Pete Ritchie, Jr. and Erin Miller
- Distinguished Service Award Lt. Rob Barnard and Tammy Johnson
- Award of Excellence Officers Alan Dyer and David Hanlon, Detective Randall Life, and Auxiliary Officer Kent Folsom

The event, which will coincide with the closing of **National Police Week**, will be held at the **Hotel Madison** beginning at 6 p.m. We welcome media coverage. For Additional information contact: Rob Barnard, 540-607-6484; Dave Banks, 703-850-5151.