Harrisonburg Redevelopment and Housing Authority

  • Increase
  • Normal
  • Decrease

Current Size: 80%

View the 2016 Assessment of Fair Housing [8MB]PDF


Board Description

The Harrisonburg Redevelopment and Housing Authority (HRHA) is a political subdivision of the Commonwealth of Virginia created pursuant to Title 36 of the Code of Virginia. The HRHA aims to promote adequate and affordable housing economic opportunity and a suitable living environment free from discrimination. It also helps foster redevelopment of blighted areas to ensure the economic, social and housing vitality of the community. The HRHA is governed by a five member Board of Commissioners appointed by the Harrisonburg City Council. The board establishes the HRHA's policies and procedures and appoints the Executive Director.


Four years; two successive.


Meeting Date/Time/Location
The Board of Commissions meetings are held on the third Wednesday of each month at 4:00pm in Council Chambers at City Hall, 409 S. Main Street.  

Pursuant to Harrisonburg City Code Section 2-2-6, the Harrisonburg Redevelopment and Housing Authority will hold its regularly scheduled meeting on Wednesday, October 18, 2020 at 4:00pm in the City Council Chambers, 409 South Main Street, Harrisonburg, VA. The agenda will be posted on the city’s website at:  https://harrisonburg-va.legistar.com/Calendar.aspx

Residents/Media will be able to attend the meeting according to best practices and procedures associated with pandemic disaster.

  1. Masks must be worn
  2. Social distance of at least 6 ft will be followed

Residents/Media will also be able to watch the meeting live on:

For more information visit Harrisonburg Redevelopment and Housing Authority.


Board Member



Mr. Dany Fleming 



Christine Fasching Maphis






Gil Coleman

Unexpired 1st


Ms. Costella Forney



Kevin Coffman 



Luciano Benjamin



Questions or Comments?  Mail to City of Harrisonburg, Office of City Manager, Attn: (Board Member), 409 South Main Street, Harrisonburg, VA 22801.

Back to Regional Boards and Commissions.